Khammam district was formed on 1st October,1953 with Khammam town as Head Quarters.  The total geographical area of the district is 16,029 Sq. Kilometers.  It is bounded by states of Chattisgarh and Orissa on the north, East & West Godavari districts on the East, Krishna district on the South, Nalgonda and Warangal districts on the West.  The district head quarters – Khammam town is situated at a distance of 200 K.Ms from the state capital.  The district is divided into 4 revenue divisions.  It has 46 Mandals with 1242 revenue villages and 4 towns.  As per the census 2001, the population of the district is 25.65 Lakhs.


Apart from the District Co-operative Central Bank Ltd., Khammam, there are 88 commercial bank branches, 70 RRB Branches and 5 Co-operative Urban Bank Branches operating in the District.

The area of operation of the Bank extends to all (46) Revenue Mandals of the District through 105 Primary Agricultural Co-operative Societies functioning  with (28) Branches.  All the Branch Offices function as full pledged branches in their area of operation and undertake acceptance of Deposits, render Banking Services.  However the lending operations are extended mainly through 105 PACS in the District.

Government Support to the Cooperative Credit Structure in the District:


  • Implementation of Vaidyanadhan Committee Recommendations 
Read more